Dissertation: Philosophical Bedrock

I am taking an eliminative materialist stance. I will not be using folk psychology terms like ‘consciousness’ ‘mind’ and ‘representations’. I believe that these terms are only describing specific types of neural or chemical configurations and for the sake of precision, it is best to base theory. I will also take a non-reductionist stance. Many of the phenomenon which shape how humans process information are complex and cannot be reduced without a reduction in understanding. With this anti-reductionist eliminative materialist stance, I will explore how we humans process information online.

In this analysis, I am concerned with how humans process information socially, looking specifically at how humans process information together on the internet. I explored one site of information processing, Reddit.com. Using a python script to mine 50 reddit conversations on science topics (Genetically Modified Organisms, CRISPR, Vaccines, Global Warming, and Artificial Intelligence) I conducted a multi-part analysis that will be explored in later posts.

Leave a comment